An open letter to people who don’t live with or understand anxiety.

This is for the best friend, parent, teacher, or other members of society that don’t really understand what it is actually like to have a real anxiety disorder.

I’d like to start off  by saying, we know we sound ridiculous. We know that most of what we are saying or thinking makes no sense to you. To be completely honest with you, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to us either.

 

Anxiety and having an actual anxiety disorder is two completely different things. Having anxiety about having a test, or going to try out for a team or part in a play is a different type of anxiety then pretty much living in a constant state of panic and fear. Living with an actual anxiety disorder is overthinking things “normal people” wouldn’t think twice about. It’s getting nervous for every single thing, even for things that make us really happy. Living with an actual anxiety disorder is sleep for 2 days because we are so tired from having 3 or 4 panic attacks, to having 2 to 3 nights of no sleep because you stay up all night staring at the ceiling over thinking anything and everything. It’s learning how to calm yourself down in public, or finding ways to hide your anxiety from everyone. Having an actual anxiety disorder is trying to be rational with the crazy thoughts that are running through your head. It’s not being able to get out of bed some days because it feels like the weight of a thousand men are sitting on your chest and your thoughts are like a hurricane. It’s giving yourself a pep-talk to be able to get out of bed on the mornings staying in bed isn’t an option.

Living with  anxiety is trying to find yourself under all the madness going on inside of you. It’s trying to keep control of your life, and not letting the anxiety control it. It’s trying to find a way to breathe and stay calm. Its simply trying to live as normal as possible.

3 thoughts on “An open letter to people who don’t live with or understand anxiety.

  1. midnightpizzarun says:

    Living with disorders like anxiety or anorexia is very hard. Many people are quick to judge or to say, “oh they’re faking it for attention” however that isn’t always the case. I try very hard not to be one of those people. I used to think I had a mild case of anorexia because I would only eat half of a peanut butter sandwich at around noon and then just drink green tea the rest of the day…I lost a lot of weight and always felt fatigued. As I continued this habit my mom began to worry about me and started to watch me eat every once in awhile so she would know that I was in fact eating. I now eat all day but it was very different and I felt like a completely different person after it all

    Like

  2. cultureasite says:

    YES. I just love doing things a enjoy like going to the mall or the movies and just being afraid of everything and everyone. Or going to school and just shake about the thought of a teacher calling on me. I connect with this blog post so much because I deal with depression and anxiety (and because I know who you are.) and because I wanted to talk about this for so long but never knew how to word it. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Laura Garber says:

    Jessica,

    I know this is a struggle for many of us, and it’s especially disturbing that it affects so many children. It’s important to remember to take time for ourselves in the midst of life. This is a busy time of the year for you; remember summer will be here in the blink of an eye!

    I like the appearance of your blog site and your posts reveal a lot about your personality. I am your mentor for this challenge and also teach junior and freshmen English (as well as yoga at the YMCA). I look forward to reading more about you!

    One thing I noticed is that I am unable to comment on your About Me page. Could you enable comments here so visitors can comment on YOU, not just a specific blog post?

    Here’s a link to my blogsite and my students’ blogs if you’d like to check out what we are writing about!
    http://lauragfhhs.edublogs.org/
    http://acceng2016.edublogs.org/

    Like

Leave a Reply

